The Care Certificate replaces Common Induction Standards by Skills for Care, the Care Certificate is an agreed set of standards that sets out the knowledge, skills and behaviours expected of specific job roles in the health and social care sectors. It's made up of the 15 minimum standards that should be covered if you are 'new to care' and should form part of a robust induction programme.
The Care Certificate is an identified set of standards that health and social care workers adhere to in their daily working life.

Designed with the non-regulated workforce 1 in mind, the Care Certificate gives everyone the confidence that these workers have the same introductory skills, knowledge and behaviours to provide compassionate, safe and high quality care and support. Regulated staff (e.g. Doctors, Nurses, Social Workers, Occupational Therapists) gain similar skills and knowledge within their professional training so they do not need to also achieve the Care Certificate. 

The Care Certificate: applies across health and social care;  links to competences (National Occupational Standards) and units in qualifications;  covers what is required to be caring; will equip workers with the fundamental skill they need to provide quality care; and gives them a basis from which they can further develop your knowledge and skills as their career progresses.

Meaningful Education provide training on the following 15 standards which leads to obtaining the Care Certificate:

  • Understand your role 
  • Your personal development 
  • Duty of care 
  • Equality and diversity 
  • Work in a person centred way 
  • Communication 
  • Privacy and dignity 
  • Fluids and nutrition 
  •  Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disability 
  • Safeguarding adults 
  • Safeguarding Children 
  • Basic Life Support 
  • Health and Safety 
  • Handling information 
  • Infection prevention and control 

All of our qualified teachers have extensive experience and knowledge working in the Health & Social Care Sectors.